« PreviousContinue »
Old Holland's Regiment, Gentleman of the Bed Chamber, and
Honourable Privy Council, till her decease, A. D. 1717.” This certainly was a very singular proceeding; for, in the first place, Leland says nothing which could possibly induce any one to do so; nor can we suppose that the printing of the Itinerary gave any information to the Earl of Mulgrave of which he was not already in possession, for he himself had compiled a pedigree of his own family; and we can hardly think that he was ignorant that Owston Churchyard had been the burial place of his ancestors from the time of Henry the Third. The noble Earl informs us that his motive for ordering this removal was to rescue their remains from oblivion ; but, alas! as far as sepulchral memorials go, he has most effectually condemned them thereto: the bones were all put in two coffins, and deposited in the family vault at Burton ; and of the “5 tumbes” nothing remains.
There is, however, a mutilated figure of a Knight Templar, laid deorsively, with his legs crossed, which I think has been brought froin Owston, and was probably over the grave of a Sheffield within the Church ; for Leland informs us that they were interred in the Church as well as in the Churchyard. Prior to the time when the Order of the Templars was dissolved, the Shef. fields had no connection with Burton. The effigy is undoubtedly intended for one of that family, as their arms are on the shield; and it now lies, not under a canopy made on purpose , but on one of the stone seats
, which are so frequently seen in the Chancels of our Parish Churches, and on which sat the priest, the deacon, and sub. deacon, whilst the choir sang Gloria in excelsis, during the celebration of mass.
The following vignette is a correct representation of the figure as it now lies in Burton Church. The drapery of this figure is sculptured with great boldness, and the chain
mail armour is executed with great precision. The hauberk on the body terminates differently from any figure of this sort which I have noticed ; the thighs appear to be covered with a gamboised or quilted defence, which reaches to the knees, which are defended by plane armour ; the hands are raised in prayer, and the feet have rested on a lion, part of his tail being still remaining; the sword depends from a belt adorned with large studs; the remains of the angelic figures, which support the cushion for the head, are delicately sculptured, two very similar figures to which are on the tomb of John of Eltham, Earl of Cornwall, who died in 1384. These additions were often introduced in the beginning of the fourteenth century. An ancient sword, but such an one as the Templar never handled, probably brought from Owston Churc!, now stands near the figure. The whole effigy is very much mutilated, which no doubt was occasioned by its removal to Burton.
The tombs which Leland mentions were on the south side of Owston Church, near the porch. After they were taken away the space remained unoccupied, until it was enclosed, a few years ago, as a burial ground for a private family.
This Church has a small estate in land, amounting in all to six acres and three roods, dispersed in different parts of the parish, the gift no doubt at various times of several pious individuals; but no records concerning these donations are in existence. They all belonged to the Church in 1663, and were then let for the sum of £3. gs. 4d. :-at present the estate produces about ten pounds per annum.
The Rectory is an impropriation to the See of York. This was one of the four Churches* given by Roger de Mowbray to the Priory of Newburght, near Easingwold, in the North Riding of the County of York, which he founded, in the year 1145, for Canons Regular of St. Augustin, “cum terris et decimis et omnibus aliis rebus ad ipsas Ecclesias pertinentibus.” After the dissolution of the Religious Houses, King Henry the Eighth compelled the Archbishop of York to accept of this impropriation, together with that of Haxey, in lieu of certain Manors of which he deprived him. It appears from Pope Nicholas' valuation, taken in the year 1288, that this Rectory was then valued at £40. In
In this valuation the Vicarage is not mentioned, though impropriated to Newburgh ; that corporation, as was the case at Epworth, presented a Rector, who had full possession of the tithe. The last Rector was collated by the Bishop of Lincoln in 1347, per lapsum, which probably took place owing to some proceedings concerning the endowment of a Vicarage, as the next parson is instituted as a Vicar.
In * The first grant of these Churches was made by Nigel d'Albini, who took the name of Mowbray.
+ The Deed runs thus.-Hanc donum feci in hunc modum, quod ego ipsas Ecclesias tenebo liberè et quietè dum in laicali habitu vivere voluero, et postquam ego habitum mutavero, aut ex vita de. cessero, Rogerus filius meus tenebit, quatuor Ecclesias de Insula, et quintam de Langford, pro quinque marcis reddendis annuatim Priori de Nebr. Ecclesiam vero de Massam et Malesart tenebit de Ecclesia de Nebr. et liberam et quietam ex omni exactione. Si ante obitum meum puer oberit post decessum ipsæ Ecc. liberæ et quietæ remanebunt Ecc. de Newburgh.” This puer Rogerus afterwards gave the four Churches in the Isle to the Priory absolutely and for ever, as stated in the text; which grant was again confirmed by his son Nigel.
In the valuation taken by order of Henry the Eighth the entry is as fol. lows.
x, p. pour. & sinod xix....X.
This endowment, however liberal at the time it was made, became, like many others, owing to the alteration in the value of money, very small, so that some one of the Archbishops added the modus of High Melwood, amounting to £13. 6s. Sd.; and in the year 1737, the parishioners agreed that the acre of meadow in Lound Ings, the hay whereof was formerly stowed in the Church floor, should be given from year to year to the Vicar, in consideration that his living is very small, to help to augment it; the Vicar promising, if required, to put as inuch of the said hay as the church wardens for the time being shall think proper.”
At the time of the inclosure of the Commons, the original endowment was augmented by the consent of the Archbishop and his Lessee, to the sum of £30, by the Act of Parliament obtained for that purpose. The Vicar also, at that time, obtained an allotment on the Common of eight acres of land. Since that time the sum of two thousand five hundred pounds was appropriated by the Governors of Queen Anne's Bounty for the further augmentation of this Vicarage; which money was raised partly from Par. liamentary grants, and partly from the benefactions of that truly munificent Prelate, Dr. Vernon, and of the present Vicar, assisted by the Trustees of the Charity of the late Mrs. Pyncombe. In the reign of Queen Elizabeth, it was agreed between the inhabitants of East Ferry and the Vicar of Owston, that they should pay to the said Vicar 4d. for their hens, and the “ Cottingers 3d. in consideration of which payment he was to christen their children, to church their wives, and to administer to them the Holy Communion.” There was a Chapel at East Ferry, at the time of the valuation of King Henry the