Page images
PDF
EPUB

On a blue marble stone upon the floor, within the altar rails, is the following inscription :

[merged small][ocr errors]

On a small brass pillar attached to one of the pillars.

HERE LYETH THE BODY
OF ELIZABETH, WIFE OF MR. RICHD.

TAYLOR, OF HIRST, WHO
DEPARTED THIS LIFE,
30TH OF NOV. 1728,

Æ. 51.

Round the edge of an antient gravestone in the north isle, which seems to have been injured lately.

HIC JACET WILEIUS EVERS, ARMIGER,

ET AGNES W. ENES FILIA,
ET HERES WILLI. CAIDU-

On the stone are engraved the arms of Evers, quarterly or and gules a bend sable.

On On three marble tablets, on the wall of the Chapel, on the north side of the chancel, are the following inscriptions :

SACRED
TO THE BELOVED MEMORY OF
JOHN AND HANNAH COLLINSON,
OF BELTOTT, IN THIS PARISH,

WHOSE REMAINS

REST NEAR THIS PLACE.
THE FORMER WAS CALLED TO THE

PRESENCE OF HIS GOD,
ON THE 25TH DAY OF DECEMBER,

1827, AGED 70 YEARS.
HIS DEAR AND TENDER WIFE
SURVIVED HIM BUT FIVE WEEKS

AND THREE DAYS,

AND EXPIRED
THE FIRST DAY OF FEBRUARY, 1828,

AGED 72 YEARS.

IN REMEMBRANCE OF THEIR

PARENTAL SOLICITUDE,
UNWEARIED LOVE,
AND INDULGENT AFFECTION,

THIS MEMORIAL IS ERECTED

BY THEIR

SORROWING CHIDREN.
"IF WE BELIEVE THAT JESUS

DIED AND ROSE AGAIN,

EVEN SO THEM ALSO WHICH

SLEEP IN JESUS

WILL GOD BRING WITH HIM.

1 THES. 4 Ch. VERSE 14.

SACRED

SACRED
TO THE BELOVED MEMORY OF

KATHERINE SUSANNAH COLLINSON,
ELDEST DAUGHTER OF Jo. AND HAx. COLLINSON,

LATE OF BELTOFT IN THIS PARISH,

AT WHICH PLACE SHE WAS BORN.
SHE FINISHED HER PIOUS AND CONSEQUENTLY

EXEMPLARY LIFE

AT WEST BUTTERWICK,
ON THE 12TH DAY OF JANUARY, 1836.

HER MORTAL BEMAINS REST HERE

AWAITING THE SECOND COMING OF OUR LORD JESUS CHRIST,

IN WHOM SHE TRUSTED.

FOR THE LORD HIMSELF SHALL DESCEND FROM HEAVEN

WITH A SHOUT, WITH THE VOICE OF THE ARCHANGEL,

AND WITH THE TRUMP OF GOD, AND THE

DEAD IN CHRIST SHALL RISE FIRST.

SACRED TO THE MEMORY OF
MARIA EVELINA, THE BELOVED
CHILD OF JAMES AND HARRIET
LAMMIN, OF PENTONVILLE,

NEAR LONDON,
AND GRAND-DAUGHTER
OF JOHN AND HANNAH
COLLINSON, OF BELTOFT,

IN THIS PARISH.
AT WHOSE HOUSE SHE DIED,

ON THE 23RD DAY
OF DECEMBER, 1822, AGED
9 YEARS AND 10 MONTHS.

HE SHALL FEED HIS FLOCK

LIKE A SHEPHERD, HE
SHALL GATHER THE LAMBS

WITH HIS ARMS, AND

CARRY THEM IN HIS BOSOM.

40 CH. ISAIAH, 2 Verse.

Under

Under the organ loft is this inscription.

IN MEMORY OF
JOHN PARKIN, LATE OF YORK,

ORGAN BUILDER,
BORN MAY 6Th, 1808,
DIED DECEMBER 29TH, 1834.

Near the same place.

IN MEMORY OF
JOHN PARKIN, WHO DEPARTED

THIS LIFE ON THE 19TH
DAY OF JULY, 1836, AGED 69 YEARS.

It appears from a MS. of the celebrated antiquarian Torr, now in York Minster, that one of the quarterings in the coat of arms of Ferne was blazoned in the windows of the Chapel, on the north side of the chancel, when he visited Belton Church.

Gu. on a bend componee az. argent
between two lions heads erased argt. 3
leopards faces or. and border componee argt.
and az. which are the arms of Fereby

Also the arms of Evers quartered with those of Mowbray.

Gu. a lion rampant arg. debruised by a bend
az. thereon three escalops or.gu. a lion rampant argt.

There is also another coat of arms in the east window of this chapel.

Bendy of 6 argent, and gules a fyle of 5 points az.

We learn from a memorandum in the register of this parish, “that the

blasphemous blasphemous pictures of the Holy Trinity, Father, Son, and Holy Ghost, were removed out of the glass windows of the choir of Belton, January 10th, 1595, the expence whereof was ten-pence and no more. Witness, John Melton, Clark, Henry Glew, William Ashton, William Mercer, Richard Medley.

This Church has a small estate for the sustentation of the fabric*, con. sisting of a house and five acres of land, which is now let for the annual rent of £12; and also a close containing about eight acres, given at the inclosure as a common-right to this house, which is now let at the annual rent of £4, on condition that the person who took it should discharge the expences of the inclosure, which amounted to the enormous sum of £63, “to hold the said land on those terms until the aforesaid sum be paid off.”

THE RECTORY

OF this parish was given along with Epworth, Owston, and Haxey, by Mow. bray, to the Abbey of Newburgh, in the year 1145; and in a list of the possessions of the Priory of Essold or Asholt, in the West-Riding of Yorkshire, we find that the advowson of this living was given by Margaret Clifford, widow, with the King's licence, temp. Richard I. A. D. 1191, to that house. This probably took place in some exchange between these two religious houses, in which somehow or other Dame Clifford was concerned, for in Dugdale there is a release to Asholt of all debts due to the Prior and Convent of Newburgh. It

appears from the institutions at Lincoln, that there were three presen. tations of this Rectory by the family of Beltoft, which were probably per concessionem. Then it was transferred to the Priory of Alta Prisa or Haltem

prise,

* There are no documents in existence from which we can ascertain who were the original donors of these Church estates, or what were the specific objects for which they were left : but there is great doubt whether they ought to be considered as fabric funds. The fabric had already been provided for by the parochial rates; and therefore it is very probable that these pious bequests were intended as funds for the better celebration of divine service,

« PreviousContinue »