« PreviousContinue »
and his heirs, the rent of £2, English, out of the said premises; the town and lands of Ballinkillen and Ardgrilleene, one quarter; Carrownanassa, one quarter; Drumkicoole, one quarter; MullaghIteigue, one quarter, saving to said Bryan Mac Dermott, and his heirs, the rent of £l sterling, thereout; all which premises, together with Longfordevaghery, one quarter ; Cloonekene and Cloonconragh, two quarters; Arme, a quarter; Cashell and Armebeg, a quarter; Clowntraske, half a quarter; Dromdowlin, half a quarter ; Cloondacarra, two quarters; Carrownecarrigy, one quarter; and Caltraghisell, one quarter, in the barony, which were also granted to said O’Mulloy, were created the manor of Croghan, with 400A. in demesne; power to create tenures, to hold courts leet and baron, to hold a fair at Croghan on St. Luke's day, and the day after, with a court of pie poudre, and the usual tolls. The patent also passed in the said barony of Boyle two-third parts of the castle of Leamgare, with one-third of the four
quarters of Leamgare, and the trine of Scormore, containing a quarter and a third ; the castle, town, lands, and quarter of Canbo; the eastern quarter of Fennowre; Dromorhe, one quarter ; Carrowmore, one quarter; the trine of Gortnacloighe, containing one quarter and a third; Dromlien, one quarter; Lissigalla, one quarter; half of Carrowentogher quarter; Lecarrowencashel in Boher, half a quarter; Clontowart, two quarters; the castle, town, lands, and four quarters of Callowe, otherwise Carrickbeg ; Drumencullew, half a quarter; the town, lands, and half quarter of Clownagunnanee; the town, lands, and half-quarter of Lisduff; Moher, one cartron ; Scalpe, half a quarter, with sundry savings, as of small chief rents, to said Bryan Mac Dermott. Other lands in the barony of Ballintobber, which passed hereby, were Carrownegranshie, one quarter ; Gortevarla, one quarter ; Moigh, one quarter; Garricam, one cartron ; parcel of Clowneshallise; Fiaraghkell, half a cartron; parcel of Lisgobbon; one-eighth of Derrycunna, and part of Unimoobeg; while in the barony of Athlone it granted Knockmeanagh, one quarter; Glannagon, one quarter; Carrawneskartan, one quarter; the castle and cartron of Lisdallon; one cartron of Moylitteragh; half of Tobbernacalpy; one-fourth of Killcoss ; Shanballynaconner, one quarter ; and three cartrons of Fearbreg'(a). In 1641, this patentee was one of the gentlemen of the County Roscommon who met at Ballintobber, where, Sir Lucas Dillon presiding, they took an oath “for the maintenance of the King's prerogative, and for establishing the Roman Catholic religion in and throughout Ireland(6)."" He was subsequently plundered of the most of his property by the infamous Sir Charles Coote. The above William O'Mulloy married Margaret Clifford, possibly a relation of Sir Conyers Clifford, who was Governor of Connaught in 1599, and by her he had issue, Connor O’Mulloy, his eldest son, of whom hereafter ; and Edward, his second son, who was one of the burgesses appointed in the charter of James the Second to Boyle. This latter married Mary, daughter of the O'Connor Don, by whom he had a son, also styled Green Mulloy, who married a daughter of Sir Maurice Howley, Knight, by whom he had issue one son, William, and two daughters, Bridget, married to Captain Philip Phillips, of Clonmore, County Mayo, and Mary to Captain Burke. William became a captain in the service of James the Second, and was, consequently, attainted, on inquisition taken at Elphin, 2nd November, 1696. He had married Alison, daughter of Sir Oliver Tuite, of Sonnagh, Baronet, and had issue by her, Theobald Mulloy, Esq. (who became a captain of horse in the army of the King of Portugal), another son, Ignatius, and a daughter, Eleanor, who married Mac Dermot, of Moylurg, as shewn in the memoir of the latter family. The “Great William O'Mulloy” had also two younger sons, Arthur and Terence, and two daughters, viz.: 1st, Anne, who married Charles, son of Sir Hugh O'Connor, of Ballintobber, and on his decease became the wife of Edmund Dillon, nephew of Theobald, first Viscount Dillon; and 2nd, Mary, who married Philip Reilly, of Lismore, County Cavan, by whom she had a son, John, who married Mary, the eldest daughter of Lucas Dillon, brother to the Earl of Roscommon. But to return to
Connor O'Mulloy, the eldest son of said William : he married Jane, daughter of Sir Richard Rutledge, of Belleek, near Ballyshannon, by a daughter of — O'Brien, of Thomond, and by her had issue, Theobald O'Mulloy, who espoused the cause of King William, while his cousin Willian, as before mentioned, adhered to James the Second. The former was a captain of dragoons at the battle of the Boyne, and, according to the family tradition, when his king's horse was shot under him, he presented his own charger to the gallant monarch ; that he certainly did some such signal service, appears authenticated by the order of that monarch, transmitted in 1690 from King's-Weston, by Sir Robert Southwell(a). In 1691 he was sheriff of the County Roscommon, when notices of his services will be found, post, in the General History of the Barony; and in 1695 he was one of the twenty-five Commissioners selected to assess and levy the poll-tax, for the exigencies of the State, in the County Roscommon. He lived to a great age, and, dying in 1734, was buried under the east window of Ardcarne church. He had married Frances Harlow, by whom he left issue, Charles Mulloy, his eldest son, who first served in King James's army, but, it is said, under duress, and afterwards in William's ; in which latter, however, his promotion beyond a company was retarded, by reason of his first adhesion ; he was wounded in the leg on the occasion of the attack of the English and Dutch fleets on Vigo, in 1702. He died about the year 1760, and was buried in the family vault at Ardcarne. By his wife, Hester Adams (of the line from which descended the President of the United States), he had several children. John, his eldest, married Miss Cooper, of Cooper Hill, but died without issue. Coote, his second son, was, in early life, in the 13th Dragoons, and subsequently restored to portion of his own estates; he married Margaret, daughter of James Dod, by Martha, daughter of John Auchmuty, Esq., M. P. for the borough of St. Johnstown. This Margaret was, in the paternal line, descended from the English family of Dod, of Cloverley Hall, in Shropshire, and
(a) See D'Alton's History of Drogheda, vol. ii. p. 333.
Edge, in Cheshire, whose inheritance of manors, in both these counties, is derived from time anterior to the Norman Conquest; who sent a knight, in the person of Sir John Dod, to the field of Agincourt, and whose alliances mingled their blood with that of the noblest and most illustrious in England(a). By this Lady Coote had four daughters: 1st. Hester, married Andrew Kirkwood of Castletown, County Sligo, by whom she had two sons; the elder, late Colonel of the 64th Infantry, married Emily, daughter of General Coffin, Governor of St. John's, and niece of Sir Isaac Coffin, by whom he has issue one son, Townshend Kirkwood, and two daughters.—2nd. Margaret, married to the Mac Dermott Roe. -3rd. Rebecca, to John Phipps of Lisloney ; and 4th. Helen, to the Reverend Peter Bermingham. He had also several sons; Tobias, his eldest, was called to the bar in 1775, and died in 1825, leaving issue by his wife, Susanna Roche (daughter of Colonel Roche, whose father represented the city of Limerick in three successive Parliaments), Coote and Charles Mulloy.—Coote (who died in the last year, Sheriff of the County Leitrim) married Mary, eldest daughter of the late William Lloyd of Rockville, by whom he had issue, the Reverend Coote Charles, and WilliamJames, and three daughters, Mary, Hessy, and Margaret. The Reverend Coote Charles married, in 1831, the daughter of Robert King Duke, of Newpark, County Sligo, and has issue by her three sons, Coote, Robert, and William, minors.-- William-James, the second son of Coote, the elder, married, in 1837, Anne, eldest daughter of the late Hamilton Gorges, Esq., of Kilbrew, by whom he has issue William Gorges, and Emily Louisa, both also minors. The family residence of these, the elder representatives of Coote
(a) One of the alliances, here alluded to, was with Sir John Talbot, the first Earl of Shrewsbury, a hero, by whose achievements in the middle ages history and poetry have been alike embellished; his granddaughter, Matilda Eyton, having married, in 1470, John Dod, lineal ancestor of the present representative of the line, John Whitehall Dod, of Cloverley, and from this marriage the abovementioned Margaret was also lineally descended. VOL. I.
Mulloy, who married Margaret Dod, has been Hughstown, in the immediate vicinity of Oakport. Charles, the second son of Tobias, was successively Rector of Clontarf and Colooney, at which latter place he died in 1832; he married, ist. Miss Usher; and 2nd. Miss King, the sister of Sir Robert King of Charlestown, by whom he has left three sons and four daughters. Besides Tobias, the eldest son, Coote Mulloy, before mentioned as having married Margaret Dod, had three other sons. James, his second, was Rector of Kilronan, and died suddenly, at the house of his brother-in-law, the Mac Dermott Roe of Alderford. Coote, the third son, was aid-de-camp to General Eustace, at the battle of Gemappe,
and died in London. William, the youngest son, married Frances, daughter of Arthur French, Esq., of Frenchpark (grandfather of the present Lord de Freyne, and for many years one of the representatives of the County Roscommon), by her he has issue three sons, Coote, a Deputy Lieutenant of that county, and lately its Sheriff ; William, a barrister; and Arthur-Edward, an officer in the 89th Regiment of Foot; and four daughters, Alice, Margaret, Fanny-Louisa, and Eliza. Coote, the stock whence these two lines of Hughstown and Oakport diverged, died in 1796, and was buried on the south side of Ardcarne church.
Within the demesne of Oakport is a grave-yard, and on the townland of Knockadaff another. From the foot of the high ground in this latter vicinity, called Ox-hill, the annexed view of Oakport, and its lake, has been taken.—On Farnagalliagh, i. e. “the maids' meadow," contiguous to the church of Ardcarne, are some ruins, traditionally identified with a nunnery, which was once a cell to the Abbey of Kilcreunata, in the County of Galway; while, on the summit of the hill, that gives name to Knock-vicar, a monastery for Dominicans was early founded, but of this no traces