« PreviousContinue »
vered, partly by the Shannon, and partly by loughs, of which there are several within it; there is also a quantity of bog and some excellent limestone. The total annual value of the lands of this parish is set down for local taxation at £2,509 19s. 8d. In the ecclesiastical arrangement the rectory is impropriate in Viscount Lorton, without patronage, while the vicarage forms part of the union of Aghrim; the parochial rent-charge, now £63, is payable in moieties to the impropriator and the vicar. In the Roman Catholic division Killummod forms part of the union of Killuken. The population was, in 1821, returned as 1,490, increased in the Census of 1831, to 1,978, of whom only 29 were members of the Established Church, the rest being Roman Catholics. The late Report limits the total population to 1,857 persons.
The church of this parish has been long a ruin; it is situated in the townland of Killapoge, near the village of Croghan, and was more anciently called the church of Dromyn; the parochial cemetery surrounds it, and near it, on Knockroe, is another graveyard, with a rath immediately contiguous; there are three other raths on Lisdaly, three on Knockroe, three on Ballinvilla, one on Carrowreagh, three on Killummod, three on Dacklin, &c. On the townland of Canbo are the remains of a castle, an ancient seat of the O'Farrels, and once of great extent, but its materials have been plundered for the erection of humbler structures. A boys' school for this parish was erected, chiefly by a grant from Lord Lorton; it is now maintained by Lord Crofton, and on Sundays is used as a chapel of ease.
THIE PARISH OF KILLUKEN
Is situated on the direct road from Dublin to Sligo, the Shannon being its eastern boundary. It contains 4,831A. OR. 1P., present statute measure, of which 110A. 2R. 10p. are covered with water, the land being valued at £2,596 ls. 5d. per annum. The soil is chiefly pasture, much also arable, and a smaller proportion meadow, with some marshy land, flooded in winter, but in summer used as meadow or pasture; there is also some bog, on the road from Croghan to Carrick, and limestone quarries abound throughout. A very small portion of the town of Carrick is in this parish, the remainder, which is the respectable division, being in the County Leitrim. Ecclesiastically considered, the rectory of this parish is the proper corps of the archdeaconry of Elphin, but, by reason of its smallness, has been episcopally united, as noted at Ardcarne. The rentcharge of this amounts, on present deductions, to £75 18s. 6d., payable exclusively to the incumbent. The glebe house was built in 1816, here the curate of the parish resides, and has a glebe of 13 acres; the venerable incumbent resides in Ardcarne glebe house. In the Roman Catholic division, Killuken is the head of a union, or district, comprising also the parishes of Estersnow and Killummod, and parts of Tumna and Kilcola, which district is also called Croghan and Ballinameen, and contains chapels at Croghan and Drumercool, within this parish.
The population of this parish was estimated as 1,790 in the year 1790; in 1821 it was returned as 2,483 persons; yet further increased, on the census of 1831, to 2,948, of which total it was afterwards calculated that only 122 were members of the Established Church, the rest being Roman Catholics. The late Report set down the total as 2,963.
The church of Killuken is an old structure, but capable of accommodating 150 persons. The successive incumbents in this Killuken, for there is another parish of the same name in the county, as far as proveable by the First Fruits Books(a), have been as follows:
1615. Vicarage of Killuken; Ralph O'Dunway; church in ruins.
1633. Rectory of Killuken, and vicarage of the same, belong to the archdeaconry of Elphin; William Hollywell, vicar.
1640. 22nd March.-William Dunerill collated to the vicarages of Killuken and Kilcooley, vacant by the death of William Hollywell.
1700. 24th July.—Peter Mahon collated to the archdeaconry of Elphin, and vicarages of Killuken and Tumna.
(a) It is to be regretted, that the charges for searching these, and
every other class of documents, in the Record Office of Dublin, are so heavy, as to limit legal, and utterly to preclude literary inquiry. The same complaint is, indeed, applicable to all such repositories in Dublin, with the exception of the Registry Office.
1725. 21st April.—George Caulfield, collated and instituted to the vicarages of Killuken and Kilcooley.
1743. 6th June.- Arthur Mahon collated, instituted, and promoted to the archdeaconry of Elphin, consisting of the entire rectory of Killuken, and vicarages of Tumna, Crieve, Kilcolla, and Estersnow.
1750. 22nd February.—Henry Cunningham, to the archdeaconry of Elphin, rectory of Killuken, and vicarages of Tumna and Crieve.
1761. 28th May.—John Mac Loughlin, to the archdeaconry of Elphin, rectory of Killuken, and vicarages of Tumna and Crieve.
1769. 2nd March.—John Wardlaw, to the rectory of Killuken, with the vicarages of Tumna and Crieve, as Archdeacon of Elphin.
1782. 13th April.—Ephraim Monsell, collated to the archdeaconry of Elphin, rectory of Killuken, vicarage of Killuken, and vicarages of Tumna and Crieve united.
1798. 1st June.—Oliver Carey, collated to the archdeaconry of Elphin, rectory and vicarage of Killuken, and vicarage of Tumna and Crieve.
1809. 15th Sept.-William Digby, collated to the archdeaconry of Elphin, with the rectory of Killuken.
1825. John 0. Oldfield was collated to the archdeaconry, with a union of the entire rectories of Killuken and Ardcarne, and the vicarages of Kill-bryan and Kilcorkey.
As Killuken has become so important a portion of the corps of the archdeaconry, it may be here men
tioned that this dignity, as far as its succession has been traced, was filled as follows:
1231. John who in 1245 was elected Bishop of Elphin, but never consecrated.
1251. Clarus Mac Moylan O'Mulconnery, died Archdeacon of Elphin.
1255. Thomas Mac Dermot, died Archdeacon of Elphin.
1286. Florence O’Gibellan, died ditto.
The subsequent archdeacons were identical with the incumbents of Killuken, above stated, the Venerable Mr. Oldfield being the present dignitary.
The village of Croghan, within this parish, had formerly a manufacture of drugget, frieze, and flannel, but this has been discontinued, and the place is now only celebrated for a well frequented, and agriculturally influential fair, held there on the 28th of October, and another on the 29th of May.
THE PARISH OF ARDCARNE.
The superficial contents of this parish (which takes its name from a cairn on the hill, near the