« PreviousContinue »
“side of the central axis of the hall; the inter-columniation “ is very narrow, measuring only 7 feet from centre to centre. The half-width of the platform from the northern corner to the central axis is about 80 feet. The hall was
surrounded by a thick wall of limestone, which was “ decorated with the reliefs already mentioned. On the “ facing-wall of the colonnade below remain the only “reliefs still in their original position. They represent a “procession of boats. Outside the pillared hall, on the “platform, an upper colonnade seems to have existed, “ with pillars of greater size than those in the colonnade “ below ; of this colonnade only the base-slabs of the pillars “ remain. Only the north-eastern corner of the platform “ has as yet been uncovered; there remains, therefore, “ much important work to be done, which, it is hoped, will “ produce results even more important than those gained in
'the present season's work. Several tombs of the XIth“XIIth dynasty, in the court and on the platform, were “ opened in the course of the work. Though violated by “ tomb-robbers, probably in Ramesside times, they have “ yielded objects typical of interments of the period, in good “ condition.”
In the winter of 1904-5. Prof. Naville and Mr. Hall continued their work at Dêr al-Bahari, and discovered further remains of the temple of Menthu-ḥetep III. They found that the lower part of it was rectangular in shape, and that it was surrounded by a colonnade; the outside is cased with limestone slabs, behind which is a “wall of rough and heavy nodules of flint, and the middle is filled with rubbish and loose stones.” On this rectangular building, or base, a small pyramid probably stood, at least that is what we should expect. This base was surrounded by a triple row of columns, which supported a ceiling and formed a hypostyle passage or colonnade, which must have been quite dark, or nearly so, for the outside was closed by a
thick wall. Beyond this wall and the edge of the platform on which the building stood was an outer colonnade of square pillars, but the pillars no longer exist. In the rock below the pavement of this colonnade a number of tombs were hewn ; each consisted of a pit from twelve to fifteen feet deep, which led to a small rectangular chamber, wherein originally stood a limestone sarcophagus. In these tombs
The Temples of Menthu-hetep III. and Hātshepset at Dêr al-Baħari.
(From a photograph by H. R. Hall, Esq.) women who were both priestesses of Hathor and members of the royal ħarîm were buried.
In the winter of 1904-5, Prof. Naville and Mr. Hall, assisted by Mr. Ayrton and Mr. Currelly, directed their energy towards that portion of the site which was behind the temple, for it was important to find out how the building was connected with the mountain of Dêr al-Baħari. Mr. :: Hall, who was in charge of the work from Nov. 21, 1905, to Jan. 18, 1906, assisted by Mr. Currelly, discovered a series of brick, stucco-lined chambers, built over a well of the XIth dynasty, and the South Temenos wall of the temple. This wall is of the same type as the southernmost wall of Nātshepset's temple, but it now seems to be the North Temenos wall of the temple of Neb-ḥap-Rā. The walls of this type at Dêr al-Baħarî are therefore of the XIth dynasty. When the site at the west end of the temple was attacked, at the spot beyond the tombs of the priestesses, an open space was discovered, bordered by columns, six on each side. In the course of the work numerous small objects were found, including fragments of reliefs of the XIth dynasty, and a head of Menthu-ḥetep from an Osiride figure. When the open space was excavated, the dromos of a tomb, probably that of the king, was visible, and here was found the magnificent stele of Usertsen III which is now in the Museum at Cairo. In clearing the western end of the temple-platform Messrs. Hall and Ayrton, assisted by Mr. Currelly, discovered in 1904 a building of the XVIIIth dynasty, which turned out to be the fore-court of a shrine of Hathor ; it was hewn out of the rock, and was lined with painted and sculptured blocks. In February, 1906, whilst the building itself was being cleared, a statue of a scribe of the XIXth dynasty was found. Further search led to the discovery of a small chapel, about ten feet long and five feet wide, which was wholly covered with painted sculptures. The roof is vaulted, and is painted blue, and strewn with stars in yellow. In this chapel stood a beautifully formed cow, in limestone, painted reddish brown with black spots. The head, horns, and Aanks bore traces of having been overlaid with gold. The cow is supposed to be standing among reeds, grass, and flowers, and these reach up to her neck; she is in the attitude with which all are familiar from the Vignette in the last section of the Ani