« PreviousContinue »
FOUNDED 1554, A.D. This school was founded by Sir John Gresham, Knight, alderman and citizen of London, under the authority of letters patent wzed in the reign of Philip and Mary, “ for the education, teaching, sd instruction of boys and youths in grammar for ever after to enize :" and the Worshipful Company of Fishmongers were appointed Fernors of the school. Sir John Gresham granted certain estates for the support of the hool, and assigned to the governors the regulation and disposition of rents of the estates. The Fishmongers’ Company grant Exhibitions of £100 a year to scholars of the Holt school, who may proceed thence to either of Universities of Oxford or Cambridge, on being properly recomnded by the master of the school.
1745. Lady Drury founded two Exhibitions at Christ's College, th a preference, cateris paribus, for students from Holt school. (See 301.) 1601. Mr Leonard Smith founded a Fellowship at Sidney Sussex illege, in the gift of the Fishmongers' Company, with a preference scholar from Holt school. (See p. 373 )
FOUNDED 1559, A.D.
This school was founded by Queen Elizabeth in the second year her reign. The lands and tenements belonging to the several guilds maining for the most part after their dissolution in the crown ; upon be bumble suit of the inhabitants, Queen Elizabeth gave them to the wwn and settled them upon feoffees towards the maintenance of a chool and other godly uses. But the feoffees being negligent, and be money misemployed, a complaint was lodged with the Privy Council in 1570; whereupon they were called to an account, and the ands were settled to maintain a schoolmaster and to repair the church.
1569. Archbishop Parker founded two Scholarships at Corpus Christi College, for scholars from the schools of Norwich, Wymondham, or Aylsham. (See p. 254.)
1580. John Parker, Esq. founded three Scholarships at the college, one to be given to a native of Wymondham, and educat the school there. (See p. 256.)
1659. Edward Coleman, Esq. M.A. left four Exhibitions o per annum each at Corpus Christi College, two of which are aj priated to scholars from the grammar-school of Wymondham. p. 257.)
THE CATHEDRAL-SCHOOL. On the dissolution of the monastery of Peterborough and erection of the cathedral there by king Henry VIII., the charte the cathedral directed that there should be a schoolmaster, an us and twenty scholars, to be taught grammar at the cathedral-sch besides four students of divinity, two at Oxford and two at Cambrid and assigned specific sums for their maintenance.
The master, who is chosen by the dean and chapter, is required be well skilled in the Latin and Greek languages, of good fame a pious life, and shall teach grammar, not only to the twenty p scholars, but to all others who shall resort to the school for a purpose.
1638. Francis Dee, D.D. Bishop of Peterborough, founded o Fellowship and two Scholarships at St John's College, for persons : his name and kindred, who have been educated at Peterborough Merchant Taylor's School. (See p. 317.)
1672. Edmund Mountstephen, Esq. founded three Exhibitions, a St John's College, in the gift of the bishop and dean of Peterborough (See p. 320.)
1679. James Duport, D.D. left an estate to Magdalene College to found four Scholarships for students from Peterborough school (See p. 332.)
FOUNDED 1556, A.D. This free grammar-school was founded by Sir William Laxton, knight, a native of the town, and lord mayor of London in 1554, and placed by him under the government of the Grocers' Company in
ndon. The statutes by which the school is governed are supposed to
e been drawn up by the founder himself. The Grocers' Company grant one Exhibition of £50 per annum, year, tenable for three or four years at Oxford or Cambridge, ording to residence; and open to all scholars under nineteen years of
who are of three years' standing in the school. Mr Clement Bellamy, gentleman, late of Yarwell, charged an uity on certain lands in Elmington, and directed that £8 thereof ould be applied towards the maintenance of two poor Scholars in mbridge, who are natives of the parishes of Oundle, Glapthorne, forterstock, or Tansor.
1599. Edward Montague, Esq. founded three Scholarships at SidSussex College, Cambridge, two of which are to be held by scholars y Oundle grammar-school. (See p. 372.)
1620. Rev. Nicholas Latham, rector of Barnwell St Andrew, Northamptonshire, by his will, bequeathed property for founding an ospital and five schools, and also for establishing two Exhibitions of 15 each in the University of Cambridge. He directed that the two cholars be educated at one of his five schools, and the son of the parson
Barnwell, if any of them hath a son fit to be a scholar there, in default of such, then the parson of the church of Barnwell, who should ut all times make choice of those two scholars, shall choose some one out of Oandle free-school. The exhibitions are tenable till M.A. or until the exhibitioner is chosen fellow, or has some other living sufficient to maintain him.
1672. Edmund Mountstephen, Esq. founded three Exhibitions at St John's College, giving preference to scholars from Oundle school in default of scholars from Peterborough school. (See p. 320.)
COUNTY OF NORTHUMBERLAND.
FOUNDED 1525, A.D. This school owes its origin to the munificence of Thomas Horsley, alderman, and mayor of Newcastle in 1525 and 1533, who devised all his lands in that place after his death and that of his wife, for the endowment of a grammar school, which was “to be free for any within or without that town." In augmentation of this endowment, the
corporation of Newcastle settled a stipend of four marks to be annually out of their chamber.
The school was incorporated by a clause in the charter of Q Elizabeth which she granted to the town in the year 1660 ; which cl in the charter sets forth that the queen's motive for the new instita was “her regard for the instruction of youth from their tender year the rudiments of the true Christian religion, and in learning and manners."
Dr Hartwell, by his will devised £20 per annum to be divided two Exhibitions of £10 each towards the maintenance of two scho to be sent to either of the Universities out of the schools of Durham Newcastle. These exhibitions are to continue for four years, wit year of grace to take a degree if the trustees (the dean and chapter Durham) think fit; and are to be paid out of the rents of his estats Fishburn.
1773. Michael Smith, D.D. bequeathed £800 to Emmanuel C lege, Cambridge, one half of the interest to be applied to the main nance of a scholar there, either from the school of Durham or that Newcastle-upon-Tyne. (See p. 368.)'
FOUNDED 1529, A.D. This school was founded by Dr Thomas Magnus, an attaché Cardinal Wolsey, who employed him in embassies to Germany an elsewhere; and promoted him to the archdeaconry of the East Riding in the county of York. Dr Magnus left valuable estates to support grammar and song-school at Newark : about one quarter of the pre sent rental, £2400, is applied to the purpose contemplated by the founder.
In 1551 the estates were vested in “ the Aldermen and Assistants, a corporation created by Edward VI. two years before ; which on the renewal of the charter in the second year of Charles I. was designated, “ the mayor and twelve aldermen."
In 1738 the concerns of this charity were brought before the Court of Chancery, and Lord Talbot the Chancellor decreed that the charities given by Dr Thomas Magnus should be established except what were given to superstitious uses. About the year 1818 a petition was
Jade to the Court for the appropriation and management of the funds, ririca had very greatly been increased.
In consequence of disputes of the trustees, the estates were thrown to Chancery, and by a decree of that Court in 1835, two Exhibitions me founded contrary to the wishes or expectations of the disputants, ile attached to Newark school. “ They are of the value of £80 per som, tenable for four years at either Oxford or Cambridge, and are in only to youths of 17 years of age or upwards who have been tructed at the school for three years (consecutive or otherwise) use place of birth has been at Newark, or within six miles thereof, shose parents at the time of their birth resided at Newark, or hin six miles thereof. The examiner to be appointed by the archkop of York, and to test the fitness of the candidates in classical other learning for admission at our Universities." At a former contest it was decided that if this test was satisfied, electors, who are chosen annually from the corporation of Newark, at liberty to select whatever candidate they thought proper.
THE ROYAL FREE GRAMMAR-SCHOOL.
FOUNDED 1561, A.D.
This school was founded by Queen Elizabeth. The original en"ment is uncertain ; no specifications of property appearing in the ters patent incorporating the vicar and church wardens of Mansfield fernors of its possessions, revenues, and goods.
This arises most probably from the circumstance of the same ssons and their successors for ever being likewise incorporated by tiers patent of King Philip and Queen Mary in 1556, governors of lands and possessions of the parish-church of Mansfield, to find a resbyter for ever.
Hence the several properties of the church and the school have * intermixed ; and in the year 1682, to put an end to a bill filed in juity by the two schoolmasters against the corporations, to distinguish ad separate them, it was unanimously agreed, and by a bye-law of he corporations enacted, that the priest should have two thirds of the bole, and the two schoolmasters the remainder in certain proportions.
No statutes are ordained by the letters patent, but the governors are herein empowered, by the advice of eight inhabitants of Mansfield,